The Umhlanga Hindu Society (UHS) was established to fulfill the religious, cultural, spiritual, charitable and social needs of the Hindu community in Durban North, the greater Umhlanga area, and its surrounds. From humble beginnings in 1999 that commenced with regular weekly home services, the Umhlanga Hindu Society has grown with the acquisition of its current site in Somerset Park, at the corner of Hambridge Drive and Mt. Edgecombe Drive and the development, management and construction of the place of worship and cultural centre, which in itself, encompasses a unique temple design that caters for both North and South Indian Temple styles.

Our Mandhir and cultural facility is now the centre for the observance of all major Hindu religious and cultural events and festivals, whilst still offering use of the facility as a community resource centre for activities that benefit the community. The Society is registered as a Non-Profit Company with the Companies and Intellectual Properties Commission.

Our Mission Statement

To unify all Hindus by establishing a universal place of worship and to fulfill the religious, cultural, spiritual, charitable and social needs of the community.

Our Organisation

  • To foster the spirit of devotion, dedication and worship, and to cultivate and propagate Hindu values.
  • To spread the knowledge of ethical, spiritual, religious, and philosophical foundations and practices of Hindu Culture.
  • To provide for the recreation of the public at large through meditation, yoga, music, dancing, and other such activities that are related to the Hindu Heritage.
  • To promote and afford opportunities for social and multicultural activities.
  • To actively participate in seva programmes and involve ourselves in service to humanity.

Our Board

Back Row – Left to Right

  1. Puven Akkiah
  2. Ashwin Sewdass
  3. Romella Singh
  4. Rajan Kalipershad
  5. Vijay Naidoo
  6. Ravin Rajoo
  7. Navi Naidoo
  8. Ashok Sewnarain
  9. Sharmaine Balton

Front Row – Left to Right

  1. Lalita Dhasiar- Ventura
  2. Chandra Shah
  3. Suren Lutchminarayan
  4. Danny Govender
  5. Jenny Maharaj
  6. Marlini Naidoo